Who is the 2017 NASCAR Rookie of the Year?

Erik Jones was crowned the 2017 NASCAR Sunoco Rookie of the Year after Sunday’s final race of the season, the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. 

Jones beat out future Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Daniel Suarez for the honors, which has a different scoring system than the normal Cup Series fixtures. 

A 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 point system is used for scoring finishing positions by the rookies. The highest-finishing rookie in each race earns 10 points, the second-highest, nine points, etc. Of the 36 races, only the top 17 are counted in rookie race. 

With the Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors, Jones will be awarded a $50,000 year-end bonus.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here